Distinguished Service

About the Award

The Distinguished Service Award was established in 2007 by the Pittsburgh Section of ACS to expand and replace the predecessor Chairman’s Award of the section. Both recognize outstanding volunteer service to the section. The Award, consisting of a plaque, is presented annually at a section dinner open to the public.

Members of the Pittsburgh Section, past or present, who have provided outstanding service in advancing the Pittsburgh Section are eligible for consideration. Nominations for the Pittsburgh Award are solicited from the membership of the Pittsburgh Section.

Call for Nominations

Nominations for the Distinguished Service Award are typically accepted through August 15 of the award year.  Please submit nominations to the Chair-Elect of the section.  View the Distinguished Service Nomination Form.

2017 Recipient – Dr. Fu-Tyan Lin

Fu-Tyan received his bachelor degree of science in 1963 in Physics/Chemistry and Teaching from the National Taiwan Normal University, Taipei, Taiwan. He enjoyed seven years of teaching in high schools and colleges in Taiwan. He came to the United States for his graduate study in August, 1969. Fu-Tyan received his MS in Physics in 1971 and Ph.D. in Polymer Science in 1979 from the University of Akron, Akron, OH. During his graduate study, he worked as a technician for the Physics Department from 1971 to 1973 and as an NMR (Nuclear Magnetic Resonance) Spectroscopist for the Institute of Polymer Science from 1973 to 1978 at the University of Akron. He was the Chemistry Instrumentation Manager at the University of Louisville, Louisville, KY in 1978-1980. He was the Director of the NMR Lab and a Research Assistant Professor in the Chemistry Department at the University of Pittsburgh from June, 1980. He was promoted to the Research Associate Professor in November, 1986. He retired from the University of Pittsburgh in January, 2005. In 2005, Fu-Tyan founded LIST NMR, an NMR services and consulting.  His current research interest is the separation and characterization of natural products. Fu-Tyan is the author and co-author for more than sixty papers, and presented more than twelve papers at the academic institutes and conferences. In October, 2005, he gave a plenary lecture for the  Beijing Conference and Exhibition on Instrumental Analysis (BCEIA) in Beijing, China. He gave another lecture of International Forum for BCEIA in 2011 in Beijing. Fu-Tyan organized PITTCON US Symposium at JASIS 2016 Exposition/Conference (Japan Analytical and Science Instruments Show) in September, 2016 in Tokyo-Makuhari.  Fu-Tyan has been an active member of the American Chemical Society (ACS) since 1978, a member of the Spectroscopy Society of Pittsburgh (SSP) since 1982, a member of the Society for the Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh (SACP) since 1999, and a member of the Pittsburgh Conference (PITTCON) since 1993. He served as various committee chairs last several years for PITTCON, SSP, SACP and ACS Pittsburgh Section.  He was Chairman of the SSP in 2003-2004, and was Chairman for SACP 2011-2012. He was the Chairman for the Pittsburgh Section of ACS in 2008. He served as a Chairman for Pittsburgh ACS Polymer Group in 1985-1986. He was President of The Chinese Monte Jade Science and Technology Association, Pittsburgh Chapter, in 1999.  He is Selection Committee member for Carnegie Science Awards since 2013.  Fu-Tyan enjoys sewing, cooking, reading and listening to classical music.

2016 Awards Ceremony – November 29, 2016

Congratulations to a most-deserving 2016 Distinguished Service Award winner!

From left to right: 2016-2017 SSP Chair Karen Johnson, Mackenzie Speer, 2016-2017 SACP Chair Melinda Stephens, David Waldeck

From left to right: 2016-2017 SSP Chair Karen Johnson, Mackenzie Speer, 2016-2017 SACP Chair Melinda Stephens, David Waldeck

Historic Recipients

2017    Fu-Tyan Lin
2016    Society for Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh (SACP)
2016    Spectroscopy Society of Pittsburgh (SSP)
2015    Paul Johnson
2014    Robert Baudoux
2014    Heather Juzwa
2013    Gerald Carlson
2012    Richard Danchik
2011    V. Michael Mautino
2010    Mordecai Treblow
2009    Mildred B. Perry
2008    W. Richard Howe
2007    Robert Witkowski

Comments are closed.